Weekly Blog

ansel adams 1

This image was taken by Ansel Adams at Mt. Williamson in the Sierra Nevada Mountains in California. It was taken in 1944 and printed in 1981. Ansel Adams has a very artful eye when taking photos. This photo is absolutely intriguing to me. I feel as if I am there witnessing and experiencing the mountains in the distance and the rocks under my feet. I especially like the perspective Adams chose to take this photo. I would have expected Adams to use a lower numbered aperture to focus on the group of rocks and blur the background. However, Adams used a larger numbered aperture which makes the entire image in focus. I have never been to California but I hope to go sometime soon. This image is very detailed and composed very well. I love seeing the sunlight reflecting through tthe clouds. This image reminds me of a trip I took to Red Feather Lakes in Colorado. On this trip, the weather was pretty warm at the base camp. However, when we began our hike up the mountains, it got very cold and we found ourselves hiking on 5-10ft drifts of snow.

mountain reflection

This image was also taken by Ansel Adams. However, it is taken at Yosemite National Park in California. I love the reflection of the mountains, trees, and rocks in the water. Like Adams, I enjoy photographing landscapes with a focus on reflections. There is so much detail in this image. When I first glanced at the photo, my eye was naturally directed to the bridge over the water and its reflection in the water. There is a huge amount of texture in this image from the mountain top, tall trees, the bridge over the water, and trees on either side of the bridge. The reflection is awesome in this image. I love seeing the reflection spread across the entire image. This image reminds of the many landscape photos I have taken at my grandfather’s farm and fishing on the pond. I too enjoy capturing photos of reflections.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment